SIXTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT
(La Plata, San Juan, and Archuleta Counties)

Administrative Order No. 2021-2

ORDER AMENDING JUVENILE INTAKE PROTOCOL AND VACATING
ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER 2018-8

Whereas, previous Administrative Order 2018-8 established a Jjuvenile intake
protocol and whereas modifications to said protocol were necessary, the Sixth Judicial
Juvenile Intake Protocol is hereby amended as attached and Administrative Order 2018-8
is hereby vacated.

SO ORDERED this 9" day of February 2021

/ % 7\6, ,;
ilson, Cfief Judge
th Jydicial District

cc: Grand Mesa Youth Detention Center
6 Judicial Probation
6™ Judicial CYDC Pre-Trial Services
All Law Enforcement Agencies, 6™ Judicial District
Judges and Magistrates, 6™ Judicial District




Sixth Judicial District, State of Colorado
Juvenile Intake Screening Protocol

l. Purpose

The purpose of this Protocol is to outline the juvenile detention screening
procedures for youth in the Sixth Judicial District in accordance with
Colorado Revised Statute (“C.R.S.”) §§19-2-212, 19-2-507 and Rule 3.7 of
the Colorado Rules of Juvenile Procedure (hereinafter “Rule 3.7”). This
Protocol shall address 1) the circumstances under which youth shall and
shall not be screened for detention; and 2) the process for screening
juveniles to determine whether they should be held in detention or
released.

Il. Intake Screening

Pursuant to Rule 3.7 and C.R.S. § 19-2-211, the Chief Judge of the Sixth
Judicial District has appointed the Colorado Youth Detention
Continuum/SB94 office for the Sixth Judicial District (‘CYDC”) as the
Screening Team responsible for detention screenings, detention bed
management, release recommendations, community supervision and case
management. At this time, CYDC has a contract with the Hilltop Health
Service Corporation (“Screening Center”) to perform juvenile intake
screenings 24 hours per day/7 days a week by telephone.

For purposes of making a determination on whether a juvenile must be
screened by the Screening Center, law enforcement shall use the highest
possible charge for which the officer has probable cause to arrest the
juvenile.

A. Mandatory Screenings

Juvenile intake screenings are mandatory for the offenses specified
below:

e Class 1 misdemeanor or higher level offense;
e Any Domestic Violence or Sex Assault offense
(Domestic Violence and Sex Assault offenses will result




in a mandatory detention hold unless there is a judicial
override);

* Probation Authorization/Hold: or
District Court Warrant from any jurisdiction

Youth ages 10-12 may not be screened for detention or held on a warrant
unless they are originally charged or adjudicated with a felony or a
weapons charge pursuantto C.R.S. §§ 18-12-102, 18-12-105, 18-1 2-106
or 18-12-108.5.

In the event that the juvenile meets this threshold for an intake screening,
law enforcement shall immediately 1) contact the juvenile’s parent/legal
guardian to notify them that the juvenile is in custody and direct them to the
appropriate law enforcement agency to participate in the intake screening;
and 2) contact the Screening Center. Law enforcement should contact the
Screening Center at 970.244.0619. If there is no reply from the Screening
Center within 10 minutes, then law enforcement should call 970.623.9965
for immediate assistance. The Screening Center shall conduct the intake
screening using the Colorado Juvenile Detention Screening and
Assessment Guide (“*JDSAG”) (Attached as Exhibit 1) and this Protocol.
The Screening Center shall also consult with the juvenile, law enforcement,
the juvenile’s parent/legal guardian, the Juvenile Judge and/or CYDC staff
as needed to obtain accurate information.

If a parent or legal guardian cannot be reached, the Screening Center shall
still conduct the intake screening with the juvenile. The Screening Center
and law enforcement shall continue to try and make contact with the
parent/legal guardian until the screening process is completed. If the
juvenile screens to secure detention, CYDC will then continue to try to
contact the parents/legal guardian. If the juvenile screens to home
detention/release and neither the parent/legal guardian nor a responsible
adult can be reached, law enforcement will notify the appropriate County
Department of Human Services to initiate a transfer of custody of the

juvenile to the County Department of Human Services.

Once the screening has been concluded, the Screening Center will
complete all appropriate paperwork and shall scan the paperwork as soon
as possible to CYDC, the local Public Defender’s Office, the District
Attorney’s Office, the Juvenile Judge’s clerk, law enforcement, the
applicable County Department of Human Services and the Youth Detention
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Center where the youth will be detained (if the youth is being detained). A

copy of all signed paperwork should also be provided by law enforcement
to the parent/legal guardian of the juvenile.

B. Prohibited Screenings

Screening intakes shall not be conducted for the following offenses:

Class 2 or Class 3 misdemeanors;
Runaways;

Status or Petty offenses;

Truancy cases; or

Municipal or County Court Warrants.

C. Promise to Appear Issued by Law Enforcement

Law enforcement is permitted to issue a Promise to Appear (“PTA”)
to the juvenile and his/her parents or legal guardians for the following
offenses:

e Class 2 or 3 misdemeanors; or

* Petty offenses (Except citations for Minor in Possession
or Driving under the Influence charges shall be filed in
accordance with County Court procedures).

When a PTA is issued by law enforcement, an intake screening will
not be conducted. PTA forms which comply with C.R.S. § 19-2-
507(5) are attached hereto as Exhibits 2 (La Plata and San Juan
County PTA) and 3 (Archuleta County PTA). Such forms must be
used by law enforcement. Law enforcement shall provide a copy of
the signed PTA to the youth and parent/legal guardian. Law
enforcement shall also scan a copy of the PTA and the
Arrest/Contact Narrative (if available) to the Court, the District
Attorney’s Office, the local Public Defender’s Office and CYDC as
soon as possible.

D. Judicial Approval/Overrides




The Juvenile Judge shall be contacted for an override/approval in the
following circumstances:

* Any request by the Screening Center for an override on
the results of the JDSAG and/or this Protocol;

* Any request by the Screening Center for an override to
release a juvenile with a Domestic Violence or Sex
Assault offense;

¢ Placement in secure detention if it will require the
emergency release of another juvenile; or

* Release of the juvenile to an adult other than the
parent/legal guardian.

The Sixth Judicial District does not currently have staff secure (Level
2 on the JDSAG) or residential/shelter (Level 3 on the JDSAG) as
options for placement. If placement is not available at the level
indicated by the JDSAG, the Screening Center shall determine the
next most appropriate level for placement and shall contact the
Juvenile Judge for a judicial override/approval if necessary.

lll. Secure Detention

If the juvenile screens to secure detention, the youth will be held in the
custody of the arresting law enforcement agency until they can be
transported by the La Plata County Sheriff's Department to Grand Mesa
Youth Services Center (“Grand Mesa”) along with a copy of their paperwork
for admission. The Screening Center shall determine whether the youth
shall be transported to Grand Mesa- The juvenile shall then receive a
Detention Hearing within 48 hours (excluding weekends and holidays).

Prior to such hearing, CYDC will contact the juvenile to gather background |
information which may be useful to present at the Detention Hearing and to

arrange appropriate services for the juvenile. CYDC will also complete the

Colorado Juvenile Risk Assessment (“CJRA”) and the Colorado High Risk

Victim Identification Tool. A summary of the CJRA shall be provided to the

Court as soon as possible. At the Detention Hearing, CDYC shall make
recommendations to the Court regarding placement/release of the juvenile

as well as the proposed terms and conditions of release if appropriate.

IV. Home Detention/Release




If the juvenile screens to home detention (Level 4 on the JDSAG) or
release (Level 5 on the JDSAG), the intake screener shall complete the
Intake Information Form, Pre-Trial Supervision Contract, and a Promise to
Appear. The Screening Center shall have the parent/legal guardian and
the juvenile sign all completed paperwork.

The signed Pre-trial Supervision Contract and the Promise to Appear are
considered Court Orders and as such the juvenile and parent/legal
guardian shall be subject to contempt sanctions if any violations occur.
The Screening Center shall notify the juvenile and parent/legal guardian of
potential penalties for violating these orders.

CYDC shall be contacted by the Screening Center as soon as practicable
once the intake screening is complete. CYDC shall then contact the youth
and parent/legal guardian within one business day.

V. Juvenile Mental Health/Intoxication

A. Imminent Risk of Suicide by Juvenile

In the event the juvenile is determined at any point to be at imminent
risk for suicide by law enforcement, the intake screening will cease
and the juvenile shall be transported by law enforcement to Mercy
Medical Center (“MMC”) for a Mental Health Evaluation. If the juvenile
meets the statutory criteria for a 72 hour Mental Health Hold, CYDC
shall be contacted by MMC and will monitor the situation and advise
all of the parties on next steps. If, however, the juvenile has received
a medical clearance by MMC, law enforcement shall transport the
juvenile back to the law enforcement agency and the intake screening
process shall resume with the Screening Center.

B. Intoxication of Juvenile

In the event the juvenile is under the influence of drugs or alcohol,
law enforcement shall contact the Detox Center at Mercy Medical
Center and request a Police Hold. If Detox is at full capacity, then the
juvenile will be taken directly to MMC. Detox/MMC will then monitor
the youth's intoxication levels and determine when they are medically
safe to release. Once the juvenile is medically released, law
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enforcement will transport the juvenile back to the law enforcement
agency and the intake screening process shall resume with the
Screening Center.

VI. Borrowing Detention Beds

The Sixth Judicial District has been allocated 2 detention beds at Grand
Mesa Youth Services Center. In total there are 31 detention beds allocated
to the districts in the Western Region. CYDC districts in the Western
Region have agreed that if one district has all allotted beds occupied when
they get another intake, such district can automatically borrow an open bed
from another district. If detention beds are full or close capacity, CYDC
Coordinators will create Emergency Release Plans or coordinate with
another district to continue borrowing their bed.

VII. Emergency Release

CYDC will maintain an on-going list of juveniles with the lowest risk for
consideration of emergency release when all the Sixth Judicial District’'s
detention beds are full. The Juvenile Judge and the applicable Juvenile
Detention Center will be notified by CYDC of the emergency release plan if
all Sixth Judicial District's beds are full and there are no available beds to
borrow. If an emergency release needs to occur, CYDC will request an
Order for a Personal Recognizance Bond and set up transport. If a bed is
not immediately available, law enforcement shall be required to retain the
juvenile in their custody until a bed is available.

VIIl. Victim Notification

If there is a victim involved in the alleged offense, the applicable Juvenile
Detention Center shall notify the victim as required by current Victim
Notification laws and regulations. If the victim has questions regarding
notification or the case, they shall be directed to contact the District
Attorney’s Office at 970.247.8850.




