
If parents don’t agree on 
parentage, genetic testing may 

be requested.

Over-the-counter tests cannot 
be used as evidence in court.

If you need a test to establish 
parentage, contact an 
accredited laboratory.

If you need both parentage and 
child support established, 

contact your local child support 
office.

Questions about parentage?
Please call 303.866-6430

The Department of Human 
Services, Office of Child 

Support Services can assist with 
establishing parentage and child 

support matters. 

303-866-6430
https://childsupport.state.co.us

NOT SURE?

What Every Parent 
Needs To Know

PARENTAGECONTACT US



Establishing parentage can make a 
difference in your child’s life. Determining 
the legal parents of a child assures the 
child and parents certain rights, such as: 

IDENTITY: All children have a right to 
know both of their parents. Both parents 
will be listed on the birth certificate. 

MEDICAL: All children have the right to 
know if they have inherited any special 
health problems.  

HEALTH INSURANCE: All children have 
the right to medical insurance coverage 
which might be possible to obtain through 
an employer, union or military branch of 
either parent.  

CHILD SUPPORT SERVICES: All children 
have the right to be supported financially 
by both parents. Child support services 
are available at NO FEE through the local 
child support agency in each county in 
Colorado at: 
www.childsupport.state.co.us.  These 
services include locating either of the 
child’s parents, establishing parentage, 
obtaining a support order and collecting 
child support payments.  Either parent 
may hire a private attorney.   

SURVIVOR’S BENEFITS: All children 
have the right to certain benefits when a 
parent dies, which may include Social 
Security, pensions, inheritance rights, 
veteran’s benefits and life insurance. 

WHY SHOULD I  
ESTABLISH PARENTAGE?

VOLUNTARY ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF 
PARENTAGE: When parents are not married 
and agree on who is legally responsible for 
a child, parentage can be established by 
an Acknowledgement of Parentage (AOP) 
form.  This document may be completed 
at the hospital after the birth of your child 
or filed with the office of Vital Records. An 
AOP becomes a legal finding 60 days after 
signing. 

COURT ORDER: Parentage may also be 
determined by a court.  For alleged 
parents, it is very important to actively 
participate in this process.  If an alleged 
father does not appear in court when a 
hearing is set, the court can enter a default 
order for parentage and support.   

MARRIAGE OR REGISTERED CIVIL UNION: 
In the State of Colorado, if parents are 
married when a child is born the spouse 
is considered to be the legal parent. This 
creates a “presumption of parentage.” 
Parentage may also be presumed by the 
court of law when parents were married, 
have attempted to marry, or have been 
divorced within 300 days of a child’s birth.

HOW DO I ESTABLISH 
PARENTAGE?

Colorado law allows a parentage action 
to be started any time before the child 
reaches the age of 18 and in some 
circumstances up to the age of 21. 

WHEN CAN PARENTAGE BE 
ESTABLISHED?

Yes, but it may take more time.  These 
services are available through the local 
child support agency in each county in 
Colorado. 

CAN PARENTAGE BE 
ESTABLISHED IF THE 

OTHER PARENT LIVES IN A 
DIFFERENT STATE?

No, parenting time can be arranged 
informally between parents or set by 
the court. If there is a disagreement, the 
court would have to settle the matter. 

DOES ESTABLISHING 
PARENTAGE ALSO 

ESTABLISH PARENTING 
TIME?


